Star City School District 

Hamburg defeats Star City 62-19

  SC vs Hamburg

The Hamburg Lions defeated the Star City Bulldogs 62-19 Friday night, October 7, at Bulldog Stadium.  

   Hamburg scored three times in the first half.  The first score came on their first possession with 4:31 left on the clock.  They scored at the top of the second quarter in a 14 play 80 yard drive, followed by a 33 yard scramble to the endzone after intercepting a Bulldog pass.  
   Star City scored on its first possession in the first quarter with 1:18 on the clock with a 28 yard run by Jaylen Mallett.  Andy Magana’s kick made it a tied score 7-7.  In the second quarter, the Bulldogs scored again when Alex Powell made the touchdown following an impressing 62 yard run by Kelvis Walker to the 18.  Magana’s kick was blocked (21-13).  A fumble recovered by Dallas Collins set the Bulldogs at its own 46 yard line.  Sam Reed connected with Hunter Avery who got the ball to the one yard line, where Mallet went in for the score.  The Bulldog’s two–point conversion failed, setting the halftime score at 21-19. 
   Hamburg capitalized on several turnovers to take a commanding lead in the second half.  They scored in the first 12 seconds of the third quarter after recovering a Bulldog fumble at Star City’s 15 yard line (28-19).  With 8:35 in the third quarter Hamburg intercepted a Bulldog pass and scored again (35-19). On the Lion’s next possession they drove the ball in  on a four play 35 yard drive (42-19) followed by another trip to the end zone before the third quarter ended (49-19).  
   At the top of the fourth quarter, Hamburg put the fast clock in motion on another touchdown (56-19) and punched in another score for the final 62-19 score. 
     Kelvis Walker was named by the Blue Crew as the Bank of Star City Offensive Player of the Game and Trace Beard was the recipient of the Gardner Nursing and Rehab Center’s Defensive Player of the Game.  
   This Friday night, the 39th ranked Bulldogs will travel to Dumas and take on the 13th ranked Bobcats.  Kickoff is at 7 p.m.  Other rankings for the 8-4A are Warren #2, Hamburg #7, Monticello #26, Crossett #34, Dollarway #35, and DeWitt #43 (
   Area football scores for Friday, October 7:  Jonesboro 41, Pine Bluff 34; White Hall 64, HS Lakeside 36; Crossett 40, DeWitt 0; Monticello 20, Dollarway 12; Warren 44, Dumas 20; Fordyce 42, Lake Village 14; McGehee 40, Genoa Central 34; Camden GH 35, Woodlawn 7.

District Information